Canvey Man Named APC Driver of The Year

By APC Overnight on 18th October 2018

Left to right - APC CEO Jonathan Smith, Driver of The Year - Darren Woolford, APC Operations Director Colin Rann & Maxine Parkes PA to CEO Jonathan Smith

Darren Woolford from Canvey has been crowned APC Overnight’s Driver of the Year after competing against other drivers nationwide.

Darren has worked in logistics for 35 years.

The award is in recognition of his 11 years’ service at the APC depot B.J. Farr Delivery, based in Rayleigh.

Darren was nominated for his commitment to serving customers in the area.

His friendly, professional, reliable service has allowed him to build up great business relationships with customers on his route, while his sense of humour and can-do attitude were cited as two of many attributed that make him a much-loved colleague.

He said: “To win this prestigious award is an honour and I feel very proud. It was great to receive recognition for my hard work and it was so heart-warming to know that my colleagues think highly of me.

“I like being a part of the APC network; I work with the best people I have ever worked with and I feel very much a part of the whole group. I feel I am a valued member of our team and network.

“I will remember the awards night forever. It was brilliant and has motivated me to try even harder for the next event. I felt like a celebrity, and I still do!”

APC Overnight is the UK’s largest independent delivery network.

Jonathan Smith, Chief Executive at APC Overnight said: “Darren is a true team player who goes above and beyond for both his team and customers in Essex. He is an exceptional ambassador for the APC network, whilst also being a great colleague at his local depot. We are proud to recognise his committed service, and congratulate him on the win.”

As well as individual team members, the awards recognised the outstanding achievements of employees and depots across the network. Julie Luke, Supervisor of Night Operations at APC Overnight’s Cannock Hub won “Employee of the Year”, and Team C Express Logistics, based in Thetford, won “Depot of the Year”.

For media enquiries please email

Delivering for your business

Call us on 0800 37 37 37